top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

Starting Studio Practice 2

Updated: Mar 31, 2020

Where did I start in studio practice 2? What are my ideas? Where do I want to go? What do I want to achieve?





I started off mind mapping ideas that I had, I want to to carry on with what I did in studio practice 1 because I felt like I was exploring some ideas with in my work and I really enjoyed the work I was getting from it. The image above is a mind map I have done to see what sort of ideas I have and what things I would like to explore in this work.



I started with a series of A5 paintings. I liked the fact these paintings are just of my self and my siblings but it also creates this idea that they have a twin because there are 2 of each painting but slightly different. I stuck with the abstract way of painting because I like the fact they have a lose of identity. I became more interested in the brush marks that have been laid rather tan the portrait its self. The reason I went for such a small size was to see if actually if I lost detail or am I creating more detail. Them being smaller meant they were actually really quick to do they took me about 10 minutes each to complete. The colours used in the back grounds actually depended on the environment the photo was taken. For example, the green ones where taken in a forest. I'm trying to associate the colours the the environment. I feel they work well together because of the choices of colour and they experimental way I chose to paint them. I like the fact that I started to drag the back ground colour into the portraits making it blend more. Its weird to look at sometimes because the portraits start getting lost but then that the feelings I want to create.

From these paintings I wanted to explore how I can display them in my studio space. They ended up moving around the environment. I really enjoyed seeing them in different spaces. I placed them in the corner of the room because it reminded me of a reflection even though the paintings are slightly different. Its interesting when they are on two different colour walls and it separates away the idea of it being a refection. It draws people in wanting to get close to these small paintings and really look at the details. Causing people to question if they are the same or look into details to make them different. I want took look further into this feeling of loss and disconnection.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page