top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

Oil Paintings - Series 1

From heavily working with acrylics in this projected I wanted to come back to my preferred medium of oil paintings. I feel when I use oil paintings I have longer to play with the brush marks and where I lay them or what colours I chose to use as.



The paintings above are my outcomes to this series. I kept the rose in because I wanted some sort of bold colour in the paintings. I feel that because I want to focus on the emotions of feeling distant and lost, that these images represent that in away. It creates questions of why is the figure holding the rose? what does that rose represent? The figures have this stillness to them, but being captured in this state of thought and being lost. I feel the energy of the brush marks really contradict the feeling of the figure.


The first painting I was just figuring out the brushes and the paint i was using. This is a different way of painting than I usually do. so this one i was figuring out the control I have when painting and different marks I could use. I feel that a side view of a face isn't the best portrait to painting in this method as I'm using big brush marks. Although, I really like the way the rose has came out. Its like sitting under her chin and the leave in away are melting in the back ground. It all comes together nicely. There are improvements needed in the background it comes really match or fit in with the figure. So this will be something I explore in the next paintings.




In this painting I started to explore more with the background. I started using similar brush marks I used in the figure into the back ground as well. I feel now this painting fully comes together. The marks create and aura around the figure. It gives of this energy but also this stillness in the figure. I definitely got a lot more confident in this painting with how big the brush marks are. When I look at the painting I can feel the figure staring at me even though there are no details of the feature on the face. Also missing these features creates this feeling of being lost. I'm really enjoying these series of paintings as they are coming together nicely.





I feel these paintings are improving every painting I do. This one is more refined compared to the others. I have more understanding of the marks I am making now. I really enjoy bring the background into the portrait makes them more connected rather than separate. The rose allows me to bring more colour in to the portrait and really it sits well with the skin tones. I also filmed my self painting for this one as I wanted to watch the colours and the brush marks appear on the canvas. Its interesting watching my self paint because I never really think about what I am doing in that moment. (The video at the bottom). From this series I feel I want to explore more with the figure such as, what happens when there 2 on on canvas? what does that create?


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page