top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

Acrylic Paintings - Series 1


I have only recently enjoyed using acrylic paints as my prefer medium is Oil paints. However I have found it a lot easier to layer up brush strokes and create different textures. These painting are really just to get me going in this project. I enjoy painting front facing portrait I feel that I am able to achieve what I want. Although, I also think its because I'm comfortable with front face rather than different positions so maybe that's what i need to explore a little more.


This first painting I really enjoy the background coming into the portrait. The brush marks are exciting and really energetic. They give movement in the hair and scarf. I'm really happy with the colours in this portrait but feel maybe I need to experiment with different positions of the face.

In this painting I decided to got for a side on view of the face. I really don't like it because its really confusing to look at actually. To me I'm struggling to see if its a side on view or its a front on view. It needs a bit more refinement and maybe a background colour to help that.


These paintings are just a starting point for future experiments. This way of working I really enjoy as I am focusing less on the detail and more on what the marks are making.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page