top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

MARGATE

Trip to Margate, visiting the local galleries.



I spent Friday 21st February in Margate going around the galleries looking at artist and the way the exhibitions are put together.


This painting to the left I saw and felt it related to my recent work very well. They way the Artist uses the structured lines built up in the face it amazing! It is really realistic. I really enjoy the vibrant colours. This was painted by Daniel Grace in the 17-18 Age group competition showing in the Turner Gallery. There was loads of work hung up in this area done by students. It was amazing to see what local students where getting up to and their creative thinking.






Also in the Turner Gallery there was another exhibition with work created by a group of students who worked with an artist. They created work influenced by their environment and surroundings. I really enjoyed how the work was constructed and placed in the space. Specially the pieces hanging by the window. Its really interesting to see the work and space and how the materials related to the environment they are in. It comes together really well.

We Will Walk - Art and Resistance in the America South (at Turner Gallery)


I didn't know what to expect going into this exhibition. I wanted to focus on the lay out as well as the work and the variety of artist. The colours in the exhibition where very neutral and natural. Such as there is a use of wood through on the exhibition such as platforms for the work to stand on but also the walls the work was hanging on. It came away from this traditional white wall space and more into and environment. I felt like I was walking though the revolution that I became part of it in away. They also used a variety of textures like and cotton fabric that colour relate to the clothes in the photos around the space. Overall, it was and interesting space to explore and get a feel of.


Pie Factory Gallery - Julia Rogers



There was this small gallery in Margate called the Pie Factory. This is were I meet Julia Rogers and saw her work for the first time. We had an interesting chat about university and pushing the boundaries in our work. She spoke about local work shops she puts on and what other things she has coming up this year. Julia Rogers is and abstract artist that explores the idea of anatomy and figures. She uses acrylic paintings to create her bold work. I actually sent her a message later that day to gather some more information about her as an artist and her inspiration. I was very surprised to get a reply. To me, I really enjoy the bright colours and how abstract the work is. It really worked well in the environment I saw it in. Her work against the bricked walls is really interesting to look at. Makes me think about how I can look at my work in a similar way. I really hope to look more in to this exhibition space as it has inspired me and would love to work in it.


Julia Rogers Instagram: @sparklegun68


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page