top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

"Getting to know you" Colaboration

Updated: Apr 29, 2020


This project started with student I got to university with. We found ourselves talking when isolation started. Before that we knew of each other but never really spoke till now. We came up with the idea of developing work around getting to know each other and that we will do it in whatever way we wanted. I wanted to focus on embroidery as a lot of my work is heavily painting based and I wanted to come away from that. I also feel that embroidery is such a homely thing to do as well. You see it in houses in photo frames and its associated as something


you do at home in your spare time. It also comes away from technology and goes back to very basic practices. I developed a series of pieces that explain conversations that I had with Toni and aspects of Toni. There are a lot more photos of the work up on my Instagram (@chloepheonix_art) account. I have made a few of these pieces and still making more. I also been learning how to print on to fabric. I have been using the glue method, where the


glue the photo on and then rub the paper away. It leaves like and imprint. One of my tutors said she could see a pattern. I do like multiple things on one piece. I am think about once they are all done that I will film myself hanging them on the washing line and record them on the washing line. As well as hanging them out the front of the house and I will sit there want watch them with my family. It will show that time were I still cant see them because of this isolation. In away it sort of represent the many house I have spent face timing them but looking at the


pieces I have created about them. I am really excited about this project and the out come I will be getting. I have also been taking pictures of when me and Toni are video calling to put that all together creating a collage of when we finally get to meet.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page