top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

Exhibition - Rico White


In Canterbury there is a small gallery called the Lifford Gallery. I was trying to look at exhibitions that were going on whilst I was at university in Canterbury. This artist Rico White appeared and I was very excited by their style of work. Lucky I was in Canterbury the day it was opened so I had to have a look at there work. It is a small gallery but that's not really a surprise. The work in the build went with the sleek decor. Rico White paintings are actually on a very large scale and I feel like that's need with the level of detail in the paintings. I really enjoy the fact that the portraits are fragmented across thee canvas. For example, the painting above, because the figures are fragmented across the page it really has allowed for this movement or like the figures are dancing. It is very beautiful. Rico white is a Brighton based artist that uses oil paints to create these master pieces. On Rico website he says:


 

"Exploring themes of the blink-and-you’ll-miss-it-moments of human interactions, micro-expressions and concealed emotions – viewers are offered a freeze-frame of storyline. 

  Blurring lines of complete and incomplete he mixes highly detailed imagery with stark negative space to effect, the viewer is invited to fill in the gaps."

 

I can really understand seeing that when i was looking in the Gallery. They are very large pieces and that gives it more of an impact on the viewer. Overall this gets me thinking about maybe adding more than one figure in my paintings. what would that do to my work? Would it create movement? Will it still give the emotion of loss and distancing? These things make me excited to think about and get painting again.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page