top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

Charcoal sketches

Updated: Mar 31, 2020

I decided after looking at the artist Damian Goidich and Alison Lambert I wanted to explore charcoal drawing. I've came away from my traditional method of painting because I wanted to push my boundaries. I really enjoyed the impact of the lines across the page and the different textures I could create like when I smudged the charcoal, also I was able to build up the lines creating different depths in the sketches.


I went on deciding to over lapping the figures of portraits trying to get this feeling of movement in the sketches. maybe in further development I can explore this through painting in away. Although I do feel that charcoal isn't something I want to carry on with right now but I may come back to in the future projects. I like to use a lot of bold colour and well I'm obviously not getting that from the charcoal drawings.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page