top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

Working on a large scale

I really enjoy working on a large scale because it allows me to move freely and create more exciting work. As we are in lock down I have been suffering with a creative block so starting work has been a struggle. However I was sat thinking one night and this idea came across my mind and I could vision this large painting and using text. So I decided to draw it down in my sketchbook and start on it straight away in the morning The reason I started on it so quickly was because I didn't want to lose this burst of motivation.


I wanted to included some of the texts I have written in the past 3 months based on my feelings. I wrote this out with acrylic painting on the background because I was planning to paint over the top with oil paintings. This was an exciting process that I have filmed and can been seen on my Instagram or on my Vimeo (linked on this website). I ended up doing 2 of these within a week of each other because I found the motivation to.


I have found creating this work very emotional because its represents a lot of things I have been though and have experienced. Its been an emotional out lit. As I have found lock down away for my to think about things I have gone through and feelings that I have shoved aside, This work is my way of being able to express those suppressed feelings and thoughts. Also as it still focusing on disassociation. Theses feelings that I always felt disconnected from comes through in these paintings. The words are fragmented and don't make sense because of the painting on the top but that once again links back to how I feel and what I have experienced. Also I decided to leave a phrase out in the painting becoming the names of each painting. I think it brings more emotion as well but also gets people thinking what else is underneath. This work is still developing but it is super exciting and can go really far.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page