top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

Picking up the pieces

This idea of work came about when I found a broken glass frame and made me think about

how I could use this with in my work. "Picking up the pieces" Series of glass work. Based of the feeling broken after being abused and sexually assaulted in my life but to pick up the pieces and re build myself becoming stronger and more beautiful.


My mum solders glass together creating stain glass pieces. This made me think about how I could paint on the glass and then smash it to bring it all back together. This idea creates a whole new piece of art work. I had to learn a whole new skill to make this work happen. Soldering is difficult and trying to not lose all the glass pieces was difficult as well. I also filmed smashing the work as that has a powerful concept. Something so fragile smashing links to those feeling of being vulnerable and feeling broken by things we experience.


This work has made me think about future work that I could put together. Maybe destroying and re putting together is a concept I need to explore deeper. This work for myself is empowering. I am destroying a piece of work I've created to them put it back together to create a whole new form of art work. The overall outcome of this work is powerful and has a strong meaning.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page