top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

My week on Enclosed Artist

I wanted to summaries each day of what I got up to. Each day I will n-leave a link for each post as there are to may photos for me to add on this post.



Monday:

This day I didn't want to over work because I have a lot going on at home so actually doing this online exhibition allows me to post as much and as little as I want on the Instagram page. I really just sent this day answering people questions about my work. I did share a sneak peak of what I would be posting on Tuesday.


Tuesday:

Today I actually had created some work a couple weeks back that I kept to share on this page. I did a series of glass work that I thought fit in well with the theme and ideas I looked at. I wanted the work to show how I feel damaged and broken after years of abuse and being sexually assaulted as a teen. The work consists of videos of me breaking the glass and then putting it back together. I created slow motion videos of the glass breaking because it is a very impact moment. This work got very good feedback from people seeing it on Instagram. Has made me want to do more of this work. I really enjoyed sharing this work because of all the feedback and also being able to share something that I haven't already with a different audience.

Outcome:


Wednesday:

Collaboration with Meg and Vicky:

Doing digital art of each other in our own styles. I have never done digital art so this would be all-new for me. I want to use my style of painting where I lose the features and the layer of different colours and tones. I decided somehow I wanted to put all 3 portraits together in a way. This first made me think about Charlie's Angels where the 3 females are together. Then I wanted something softer so my inspiration comes from Renaissance paintings. I like the softness of the paint and how the women always look like they are glowing. I know it doesn’t really relate to my usual theme but I wanted to try something different. I would like to include flowers and other things like that. This will go back to when I first started experimenting with my style in year 1 where I used a rose within my paintings. I will still be using my style but will be exploring different ways of how to put all these photos together. I am excited to see each of our interpretations of our selfies that we shared together.


We did all video calls in the morning sharing our process and how we were doing our pieces of each other. We did try to get the work done on this day but wasn’t able to. Vicky had a lot to finish but also digital work takes just as long as a normal painting. I really did enjoy doing digital work. It was a new process that allowed me to explore different avenues. It was really interesting to explore. I like the fact I want my usual style not including facial features but that makes it harder for the figure to be more indefinable. It creates challenges which I enjoy.

Outcome:


Thursday:

This day I wasn’t able to do much because of university commitments and other meetings. However, I did get time to set up work in the garden and live stream on the account. I thought it would be interesting to see my work outside my bedroom where I have been working in lock down. There wasn’t a large audience because the account isn’t that big any way. That's something I should consider next time maybe not just setting up work but being there to answer people's questions.

Outcome:


Friday:

Today in the morning I ran a workshop for a domestic abuse support group. It was a great turn out and made some amazing work.


Collaboration with Grey:

I like how Grey uses secondary materials to paint on and I wanted to bring that into our collaboration. I thought about magazines and how maybe we could turn one of them into something completely different. I could make all the faces and figures in the magazines look and feel disconnected from the stories and Grey bringing in some bold block colours and also add some text. I think this would create a really interesting piece. We both decided to go for a magazine that is like the ones you find when you sat in a waiting room. Those magazines that are full of really weird stories. I feel that doing the faces with no features makes them more disconnected as well as adding boldness.


This work was created over the week because we wanted to have a physical magazine rather than just an online thing. The work is bold and has this interesting blend of different techniques. Grey work is bold in colour and text as mine in portraiture and more style. The way we put out ideas together did create this really interesting outcome of painting over a magazine. I would like to work with grey again and take these ideas further.

Outcome:


Saturday:

This day I just shared pictures of my sketchbook because it was my last full day on the account.


Sunday:

Workshop plan:

My work doesn't include facial features. I feel that when I do this it creates a sense of disconnectedness. I wanted to bring this into the workshop. To get people to do portraits of others but not including facial features. They have to somehow make these look like that person though. Somehow recognizable. They can do this in any medium they wish. I hope to give an hour they just have to produce one portrait of someone else in the group.


We all created some really great work and it was just nice to talk and share ideas. This final day I just did the zoom call and then put a final video up

Outcome:


Final overview:

I really enjoyed this week as I was able to fit it around my everyday life and shared as much and as little as i wanted to. The final workshop at the ed was great and it was interesting to see other peoples ways of working in a style I'm so use to using all the time.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page