top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

Starting CAP2



This new unit is about getting my work out in the public eye but also developing a body work at the same time. Well right now we are in lock down and there are no gallery or spaces open. So we have to think of other ways to create projects and getting work out in the public eye. The are exhibition spaces that are heavily focusing online right now and that does create opportunities for a lot of artist. However, I wanted to think of other things to do. I like working with people so I wanted to do workshops and also be able to work with other people. I always start with a mind map thinking up ideas and what to do basically. It makes things a lot clearer for me and the way I will be looking at going.

 

Public Work

  • Community Project: Based in my local area. Going to put on a Local Art trail open to the whole of the local area. Anyone and any age can be involved.

  • Online Exhibition: A Instagram account for a group of artist. Each artist can take over the account and take full advantage of the account sharing and connecting with loads of people. Each artist gets a week to take over and then ending the week with a zoom call with the other artist creating work together.

  • Work shops: I would really like to run workshops with a domestic abuse support group. This is really fitting with my theme of my body of work. As I am exploring feeling and the effects of trauma on myself. I want to run workshops around positivity and Affirmations.

  • Working with other students in my year. looking at group exhibitions and producing work together.

 

Body of work


I want to explore feelings of disassociation and feeling disconnected but also exploring these deeper into what has created these feelings. Such as trauma like abuse I have experienced in my life time. The reason for me want to explore this is that it is a deep subject that it can get quiet emotional. Although its a subject that need to be spoken about among people. I want to explore my thoughts and feeling with using text within paintings.


The effects of trauma is more than just PTSD. It affects relationships with people, it cause anxiety, disassociation but for some people it may not affect them at all. However I am exploring my own effects and feeling so it wont be the same for everyone.


I feel this is a subject that need to be lightly explored because I don't want to trigger myself or even other people. I believe doing this work will also help myself process the things that happen and understand how it has affect myself as a person. As well as bring a light on these feelings that are not really spoken about.


Tracy Emin is a huge influence on this work because of her use of text. She shows an honesty and pure emotion in her work about a break up she went through. I want to create an emotion that is honest and people look at and feel when seeing my work.


The image bellow showing my mood board of artist and the way I want to go.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page