top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

Sketchbook and More research


Video above is my sketchbook I have been working on this year.

This year I wanted to use my sketchbook as if it was a visual diary of my emotions and moods. My mood can change quickly from lows to highs and I wanted to capture that in the work I created in the sketchbook. You can tell when looking at the work in the book when I am well focused to feeling manic to feeling disassociated. My sketchbooks before this were really organised and tidy and I really didn't want that this time round. I feel the sketchbook I have created this is year if full of energy and emotion. I explored a range of different techniques with print painting and using text. Part of the work in the sketchbook I would really like to look further into because I think it would be a really interesting way of working and making on a large scale. The work I am referring to is the sketchbook work called 'Take me apart'. I really love this work because there is hidden layers that are conceal until you open them and you see that.


Acrylic paints vs Oil paints

Acrylic paints are great to use and means I can create a lot of work quickly. I use acrylics in my sketchbook because they dry so quickly so that means I can work fast. however I don't think I am able to create the colour I would like to. so that why I like to use oil paints the colours are strong and I find easier to make colours. although oil paints take so long to dry. when I was using oil paintings I couldn't understand why the white oil paint would take so long. I found that that to do with some of the pigments. I can add things to speed up the drying time but I really like it when oil paint is thick.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page