top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

Sketchbook and exploring text

After seeing this artist Josh Hernandez and charcoal drawing I really liked the spooky feeling they created. I have watched a lot of his process videos and how he creates his work. He uses a medium called Pan Pastels. So I decided at this point it was a medium that I would really like to explore using. I really like the smokey texture is creates and being able to layer ad create darker areas.


My sketchbook so far is just charcoal drawings but the reason for this is its something that I am enjoying doing. It creates a feeling of sadness. I started to bring text in to the drawing as well. as this is something I would really like to explore further using. I want to conceal the words so they become fragmented and confusing. This relates to my memories becoming fragmented over time. This also relates to my feelings as well being

confused and lost for words.


Adding text to my work adds more context. In CAP1 I used my mum poems within my work but found that I didn't feel connected to them as I didn't write them. I have Dyslexia so using words and writing can be a struggle it I wanted to challenge myself. I have found myself over the year late at night writing these long texts or sort of poems about feelings and things I have gone through.


I've been thinking of ways I could do this. So writing a large piece of writing and then painting over the top or writing parts of a text and leaving bits exposed. I want some of the text hidden and some of it being visible. the main influence on this work is Tracy Emin. she using bits of text through her paints and also in neon light. I find it so effective and emotional and made me want to explore a similar things.


Example text written by me (Chloe Collins)


'Do you think about what you did. Dose it ever stop your heart beat, leave you feeling out of control. Do you ever feel bad for what you did. Have you ever wanted to beg me for forgiveness. It doesn't feel like that. Feels like its all my fault. That I deserve what you did to me. But I wasn't even awake. Not able to more. I wasn't able to escape. And I am the one that feels Guilty.'




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page