top of page
  • Writer's pictureChloe Collins

"Picking up the pieces"

After the Power Of Women exhibition The frames I was gong to use the glass in one of them actually broke. So this actually got me thinking how could I use this.

Kintsugi - A Japanese art method of repairing broken pottery. They use a gold glue to put the pieces back together making it more beautiful.


I really like this way of working and how all the pottery ended up looking. I wanted to apply this to the broken glass. I put it back together and painted on to it in acrylic because acrylic dries quickly so means I can developed the work a lot quirked. I decided that this wasn't enough and that I it a piece of text written by me underneath the glass. after painting I decided to smash the glass. representing the feeling of being broken. Then I soldered it all back together. This was an emotional process because I've never destroyed my own work before but it was also liberating in away. It all came back together creating something new and interesting. I think this work has a very powerful message.


"The feeling of being broken after being abused and sexually assaulted but now taking the time to heal and rebuild myself. becoming stronger and more beautiful."


The video below is smashing the work:



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page